Padma Awards 2022: Bipin Rawat, Neeraj Chopra and Kalyan Singh Among Winners

The government today announced the Padma Awardees for 2022.

West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad will be conferred Padma Bhushan.

Former Uttar Pradesh CM Kalyan Singh and first Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat have been conferred Padma Vibhushan, confirmed the Ministry of Home Affairs.

General Rawat, who was killed in a chopper crash last year, has been honoured with India’s second-highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, along with former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and BJP stalwart Kalyan Singh.

Other winners include Olympic gold medal winner Neeraj Chopra and singer Sonu Nigam.

One of the highest civilian awards of the country, Padma Awards are conferred in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment